top of page

Introducing Dwarf Rats to Ratology Tales!

What is a dwarf rat? Dwarf rats are also called spontaneous dwarf rats, SDR, and have been extensively used in research due their limited growth hormone which also effects the way cancer grows. Because of this, a little more is known about this particular mutation, or variety, of rats. Dwarf rats appear, in research, to be less prone to cancer such as mammary tumors and may live longer than your standard rat. They are, in fact, a smaller version of a standard rat. They are healthy and robust as a standard rat and are just smaller. As stated above, dwarf rats are smaller because they have a limited amount of growth hormone. This growth hormone difference is seen between 2-6 weeks in a litter. Many times a dwarf baby will appear much like its standard siblings, just as healthy, big and strong. Between 2-6 weeks (typically), they start to appear smaller than their siblings in more than just body shape. The feet will be smaller, more petite, the tails will be short and less thick, even their faces are more demure. Some have these big gigantic eyes giving them this adorable look. Size wise, they are about 1/3 the size of a standard rat. Dwarf is a simple recessive gene meaning both parents must either carry, express or one of each in order to get more dwarfs. There is evidence of dwarfs being extremely active, brave and in some cases high strung. The three current dwarves in my litter are all calm and very sweet. If that changes, I will update.

How do I tell if I have a dwarf rat? Here is my disclaimer and warning for those wanting dwarfs. I came across these dwarfs in a litter that I did not expect to find dwarfs. The rats originated from another breeder. It is not easy to find and what happened to me was one in a million. Be wary of those selling dwarf rats, especially if they look sickly. Breeding rats smaller and smaller does not make a dwarf and can result in ill side effects. Update 4/1/2018 - My dwarfs at 6 months of age weigh 139, 122 and a whopping 101 grams. this is one quarter of a pound. This variety is brand new to me and will not be leaving my rattery this generation. I am not sure where the dwarfs will fit in just yet but they will be added to my rattery! So welcome to the rattery, my little dwarf babies!

TALE Sif, weighing in at 122 grams at 6 months

TALE Frigga, weighing in at 101 grams at 6 months

TALE Loki, weighing in at 139 grams at 6 months

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page